Hoofers · The Farm · Uncategorized

A New Addition

Most people probably think I’m crazy or weird. I usually get some odd looks when I tell them about what I do. I understand farming and homesteading isn’t for everyone. But for me, I found a passion in it. I follow that passion, and it makes for a pretty good life.  

Everyone enjoying the sun

That being said, a farm is is always expanding. Expecially mine. In the first month of moving to my farm I had people offering me animals in need of homes. From pigs to chickens and even some others. Honestly I love being know as that person who loves animals.

Maple, my Juliana pig

The newest additions to the farm is from some good friends of my husband and I. Romeo and Juliet. They are the cutest Pygmy goats out there. Insanely tiny creatures.

Romeo was originally Ringo but it seemed fitting to change the name once we named Juliet. He is about a year old and full grown standing a roughly two feet tall. He is almost the same size as my Juliana pigs. Just add legs and a neck. His very unique look is what made me fall in love with him. 

Romeo

I’ve meet some pretty intimidating goats. Romeo is far from that. He has a very calm and sweet personality. The first day he arrived at our farm he was terrified. He would run at the first  sight of me. After three days of working with him I was able to get him to eat out of my hand. He even seems to enjoy the company of my farm dog Kip. I’ve caught them playing a time or two.

Juliet was born a week ago. I was lucky enough to be able to hold her the day she was born. It was love at first sight! It was my first time holding a baby goat. I’ve got to say, I didn’t hate it.

Juliet at one day old

Juliet won’t be able to come home with me until she is 8 weeks old. Luckily she is just right around the corner from me so I can see her when ever I want. 

I really enjoy getting my animals at a young age. I spend a lot of time handling them getting them used to me. Earning their trust is important. It makes all chores with them so much easier. 

My farm will always be expanding. It’s kind of part of the gig. It’s exciting and challanging all at the same time. New animals come with new fencing, new chores and new education on taking care of that specific animal.

 I’m feel very lucky in life. Finding something I truly enjoy and spending everyday doing it is the dream. I wouldn’t change my farm life one little bit.

One thought on “A New Addition

Leave a Reply

